Search Site
The Recipients of Wings and Certificates of Competency
Guard of Honour at the Wings Parade
Lord Hutton presents the Bell Davies Trophy to Lieutenant Martin Pittock
LACMN  Luke Phillips is awarded the Guy Edwards Trophy from Lord Hutton
Bob Kramar presents the Lockheed Martin Trophy to LACMN Hannah Leask
Sub Lieutenant Dan Emptage received the John Phesse Award from  Ali Phesse
Capt Ade Orchard OBE (r) and Lord Hutton (c) along with senior Cdr’s from RNAS Culdrose


Published: 25 Mar 2015

The Sun was on parade at Royal Naval Air Station Culdrose as 10 members of the Fleet Air Arm celebrated the award of their “Wings” and Certificates of Competence (C of C).


The formal spectacle, in 824Naval Air Squadron’s hangar attended by families, friends and senior officers from the Fleet Air Arm is the culmination of many years of hard work, determination and dedication by the students as well as assessments and examinations along the way.

Bringing together 824and 849 Naval Air Squadrons in a unique Combined Wings Parade, It marked the graduation of both the Royal Navy’s Airborne Surveillance and Control (ASaC) Observers and Merlin Aircrewmen courses, as well as the end of the Air Engineer Officers and Air Traffic Controllers courses.


Presenting their Wings and C of C’s was Guest of Honour The RT Hon. The Lord Hutton of Furness.

“It is a great honour for me to be here today and share this moment in your service careers. This marks the start of a journey that will see many difficulties ahead, but with the outstanding training you have all received I am confident you will meet these challenges.”


The proud recipients were applauded as they marched smartly in front of Lord Hutton and picked up their respective Wings and C of C’s before enjoying a special luncheon with their families and guests in their honour at the Air Station’s Wardroom.


Courses prizes were also given to individuals who had excelled during their training. Sub Lieutenant Dan Emptage received the John Phesse Award, (presented by Lt Cdr John Phesse’s widow) given to the Air Engineer Senior Upper Yardsman who has made the most significant contribution to the Systems Engineering Management Course (SEMC). Leading Aircrewman (LACMN) Luke Phillips, won the Guy Edwards Trophy for the best Anti-submarine Warfare Aircrewman, and LACMN Hannah Leask was awarded the Lockheed Martin Trophy, by Bob Kramar - Lockheed Martin’sUKGeneral Manager, for the most improved Aircrewman on course.


The final award was presented by Lord Hutton to Lieutenant Martin Pittock who was given the Bell Davies Trophy for the best overall flying and ground results on the Sea King Mk 7 ASaC course.


FAAOA no longer offer support for your browser.

For a faster, safer browsing experience
and to make use of the FAAOA site features

Upgrade Now for FREE