Search Site
50th anniversary
Who's who

BRNC January 1963 Flight reunion

Published: 10 Jul 2013

On the 3rd May 2013, after three years in the planning, 17 members of the “6th January 1963 BRNC Intake” and their ladies, returned to Dartmouth to celebrate their 50th Anniversary.  On the Friday evening we gathered in the “Floaters” for a meal and to put names to older faces, in some cases literally 50 years on.  It was a very pleasant evening and lots of forgotten tales were retold!  Those that wanted to gathered on the Saturday morning for a trip to Totnes, Paignton, Kingswear and back to Dartmouth by river boat, coach, steam train and ferry.  The weather was not very kind initially but it didn’t dampen our spirits and it brightened up as the day wore on.  We all had a great time.  At 1900 we all gathered at the College, had the obligatory group photograph, pre-dinner drinks and a very nice meal in the Wardroom.  This was the highlight of the weekend, it was a very special occasion and was enjoyed by everybody.  On the Sunday morning those that wanted to attended the service in the College chapel and were then joined by the rest of the group for tea and coffee on the Quarterdeck.  This was followed by a very informative tour of the College after which we said our farewells and headed off. 

Those present were:-
Ian Argyle (O)
Wally Burgher (O)
Tony Dady (P)
Mike Garlick (P)
Tim Gedge (P)
Nick Harris (P)
Ken Instone (O)
Barry Kirby (P)
Bruce Macintosh (O)
Paul Orchard (O)
Brian Pitman (P)
Joe Williams (P)
Mike Critchley (S)
David de Vere (S)
Roger Jamieson (S)
Carl Oberman (S)
Tony Rice-Oxley (S)

Sadly, several didn’t make it for various reasons:-
Derek Cottrill (P)
Ian Parkinson (P)
Brin Sheridan (O)
Clive Calkin RNZN (S)
Nigel Essenhigh (S)
Guy Smith (S)


FAAOA no longer offer support for your browser.

For a faster, safer browsing experience
and to make use of the FAAOA site features

Upgrade Now for FREE